City Mirage
Nina-Maria Oförsagd, video, media art (FIN)
PerViktor Hjalmarsson, piano improvisation, performance (SWE)
Petri Kuljuntausta, sound art, guitar, iPad (FIN)
Daniel Nyman, slam poetry, performance, percussion (FIN)

Philip Holm, double bass (FIN)
Robert Jürjendal, guitar, effects (EST)
Mauritz Tistelö, slam poetry, performance (SWE)

City Mirage
 is video accompanied by live improvisation - music, sound and performance.

In City Mirage different cities of Europe and the Far East are brought together through a number of selected video sequences.

In City Mirage the question is: how to understand our surroundings – understand and visualize time, by observing movement of the urban dweller and studying historical layers of urban spaces. Sounds shape our understanding of a place and open us different dimensions of time and space – leading and shaping our interpretations. Video forms a visual frame for live music improvisation. It gives impulses to performers and shape to interpretations. The order and number of video sequences are different in every performance. Thus every performance ​of the ​​City Mirage ​will be different and unique. ​​The visual live image, live improvisation and performance are brought together, so creating room for interpretation during live improvisation. The visual triggers sound and sound forms how we read the content, while at the same time taking in the audience's reaction – a path is built between the visual, the sound and the audience that lives only for that brief moment.

City Mirage is an ongoing project and currently touring. After performances in Gallery Huuto and Akusmata Sound Art Gallery in Helsinki and the Viljandi Art Festival City Mirage is heading to Sweden and Taiwan. 

Thank  you Grönqvistska stiftelsen, Svenska kulturfonden, Nordisk kulturkontakt.

August 18
Backyard of Grand Hotel Viljandi // Lossi 29

August 19
Kondas Centre // Pikk 8